Just outside Jeffreys Bay and an hour’s drive to Port Elizabeth, The Gamtoos Ferry Hotel is a perfect fishing destination in a tranquil environment.
The Gamtoos Ferry Hotel
A perfect fishing destination in a tranquil environment, where one can spend time with friends and family. The Hotel caters for those who want to relax in our cosy rooms by the river or for those who like the adventure of being outdoors, can enjoy the lush green caravan sites.
This is the ideal location where special occasions can be celebrated from weddings, corporate events to birthdays. Our venue comfortably seats up to 150 guests in our dining hall. We also have a gorgeous outside area where wedding ceremonies can be held overlooking the majestic Gamtoos River.
Those who like to spend the day here will enjoy being spoiled in our Ferry Restaurant inside our bar or for those who prefer to soak up the nature outdoors can sit along the wrap-around patio.
The hotel also boasts with an onsite convenience shop that caters for guests staying in the caravan park and the local community.
With its rich history and beautiful setting, the Gamtoos Ferry Hotel is a must to visit when coming to this area.
The Gamtoos River Mouth History
“The word Gamtoos comes from the Khoisan language and means “Place of the Roaring Lion”. The Hotel was named The Gamtoos River Ferry Hotel, being near the ferry which in the early days was connecting the Eastern Province with the west.
The hotel was known in the later years to be the stopover destination for traveller and fishermen. The Gamtoos river is also known for a breeding ground for massive cob and huge specimens.
When the first Dutch farmers arrived in the Kouga and Gamtoos region they had to take their ox wagons upstream quite a distance to cross the Gamtoos river near the then known Gamtoos Ferry River Hotel.
In the mid 1800’s a pontoon was used to convey traffic across the Gamtoos River. The ferry was close to the Gamtoos River Ferry Hotel, and was owned by the late Mr. G. D. Smith, of Nocton Farm.
Often carts and wagons were delayed on either side of the river for several days. As the country districts became more populated the trade on this main road connecting the Eastern Province with the west, increased. This created a great need to find a way to bridge the river and therefore a sturdy bridge was necessary.
It took several years to plan and build the bridge caused by the unfavourable conditions of the bed of the river for solid foundations, but was eventually completed and opened on the 3rd December, 1895. The “christening” ceremony was performed by Mrs. Garcia, the wife of the Civil Commissioner of Uitenhage.
This was the main road from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town until the new N2 Bridge was built over the river in the 1970’s.
Accommodation, Venue & Facilities
The Hotel caters for those who want to relax in our cosy rooms by the river or for those who like the adventure of being outdoors, can enjoy the lush green caravan sites. A perfect fishing destination in a tranquil environment, where one can spend time with friends and family.